S.B.S.

insignificance

i am mine

riot act

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-08-08 4:01 p.m.

shop drawing


refrain: the guillotine will keep my conscience clean

round up the rebels and sit them down
ask some questions until they drown
and if my new freedom loses its sheen
(refrain)

the different and the other don't belong
the shadow of peace has grown far too long
even if my dirty thoughts are never seen
(refrain)

put on your pin and go shoot your gun
like an island in the setting red sun
and if my mind wanders like a deep, dark stream
(refrain)

wolf at the door like an enemy at the gates
roll them bones and pray to the fates
even if my morals are getting mean
(refrain)

the vagrant's vomit stains the streets with blood
as the orphaned child goes looking for some love
and when my whisper becomes a scream
(refrain)

the auditorium gathers the trembling thieves
as the soft and sweet turpentine girl grieves
even if my mind's eye misses a scene
(refrain)

the crucible crushes the truth into lies
as the rotten 10-cent lovers draw flies
and if stray thoughts come home to me
(refrain)

-----

his face is bruised and battered
like a ship through a storm
but his eyes still shine
just like the day he was born
he wipes the dried blood from his lips
and the salt stains from his eye
brushes off the dirt on his shoulder
takes the time to straighten his tie
clears his throat with a cough
like he's got something to say
pulls a speech from his pocket
and the band begins to play
(star spangled banner)
and after he was done with hope
a shot rang out from the crowd
he clutched his heart and then the sky
i never heard a silence so loud
----


old.

previous